Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 4, 2014

November 4, 2014 “The Memory Bank”

“These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” (Deuteronomy 4: 6-7)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

This past summer, I enjoyed an extended visit with my mother in Pennsylvania. It was as wonderful to be with her now as it was as a child growing up in a small Pennsylvania town. All those memories of childhood come surging back like the high tide along the seashore. When I began to raise children of my own, I told them stories I learned from my mom and dad. I shared my life experiences with them. Now that they are grown and raising families of their own, I suspect they are relating stories of their own to our grandchildren. Te lessons we teach to our children are of great importance. In Deuteronomy, we read of the importance of teaching the commandments of God to our children. We are to “Talk about them when (we) sit at home and when (we) walk along the road, when (we) lie down and when (we) get up.” There are no lessons more important, no stories more weighty, than that. Chuck Swindall writes,

“Each day of our lives we make deposits in the memory banks of our children.”

What are you depositing in the memory banks of your children? Make sure it is of great value. Make sure to tell them about your relationship with Christ. Let’s pray!

Eternal God; Encourage us to share the Good news of Christ with our children wherever we go, in word and in deed, that they might know of your goodness and your abounding love. This we pray in Jesus’ great Name. Amen!

Categories

