Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 3, 2014

November 3, 2014 “Spiritual Junk Food”

“You’re going to find that there will be times when people will have no stomach for solid teaching, but will fill up on spiritual junk food—catchy opinions that tickle their fancy.”  (2nd Timothy 4:3   -The Message Bible)

Good Morning Fellow Ambassadors of Christ!

I confess that I have an affinity for coupons…especially those for local restaurants. I am ever vigilant about spending, trying to save what I can wherever I can. The trouble is that many of the coupons I collect are for “fast food” restaurants…convenient, but not always the healthiest choice for an afternoon or evening repast. As a result of my frugality, I pay the price in other ways…mostly around my waistline! I know better, but sometimes the allure of the bargain trumps the healthier choice. I am working on that issue.

When Paul wrote his second epistle to Timothy, he addressed the subject of a much unhealthier choice with far more dire consequences that people were making…the pursuit of “spiritual junk food” rather than the solid food of true scriptural teaching. This is an issue not confined to the time of Paul and Timothy. To this day, people will often gravitate to fad teachings…to pseudo-intellectuals who expound on some supposed spiritual insight, contrary to the Word, but alluring to those not solidly rooted in the truth of the Word. The test of the truth of something must always square with that which is recorded in the Bible. If it is contrary to that, then it must be rejected. Jesus once called our Enemy, Satan, “The father of lies.”  In stark contrast, of himself he said “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.” Notice that Jesus did not say “I am “A” Truth…rather he said “I am THE Truth!”  There may be many things that are true, but there is but one embodiment of Truth, and that is Christ.

In our hearts, we are created to understand this and embrace that which is true.. It is the Enemy’s mission to deceive us with “spiritual junk food”. He even went so far as to attempt to entice Jesus himself with his nonsense, thankfully without success. As we pray, we are connecting our spirit with the Spirit of Truth. Nineteenth century poet Philip Bailey wrote,

“Prayer is the spirit speaking truth to Truth.”

Don’t succumb to the temptation to follow the latest spiritual fad, no matter how appealing it may sound. Remember to test all that you hear with scripture. If it doesn’t square up with that, then throw it in the trash with the rest of the “spiritual junk food.” Let’s pray!

Holy Lord; In you is satisfaction for body, soul, and spirit. I pray that Your Spirit dwelling within me will increase my hunger and thirst for You…for that which nourishes and sustains me all my life. You, and You alone,  are the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Glory to Your Holy Name! Amen!

Categories

