Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 2, 2014

November 2, 2014 “Here Comes My Food”

“I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.” (John 6:51)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day Everyone!

Today is an auspicious day for me, as I begin ministry in the sixteenth different congregation I have had privilege to serve during the course of my ministry. During today’s service, I will share the sacrament of the Lord’s Supper with brothers and sisters in my new church home in Tampa, Florida. Like all churches I have served, this one has its strengths and its challenges. I confess that following a pastor who has faithfully served this flock for the past thirty years, I begin with a bit of trepidation. It reminds me of the occasion where Joshua assumes the mantle of leadership of the children of Israel passed on to him after Moses’ departure, with God encouraging him three times,  “Be brave and courageous, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” That blessed assurance encourages me as I begin ministry here.

No doubt, troublesome situations will arise along the way. They inevitably do. But rather than being a cause of consternation, they become opportunities for God’s faithfulness to be demonstrated. Christian author and pastor Watchman Nee said this of trouble:

“The sight of any trouble strikes terror into the heart of those who do not have faith, but those who trust Him say, “Here comes my food!”

Here comes my food! Here comes the “Bread of Heaven”. Here comes that which will sustain us through every challenge we face in  this life. We are not left to fend for ourselves, nor are we meant to do so. Jesus said “My food is to do the will of the One who sent me and to complete his work.” (John 4:34). Our food is found at the Great Banqueting Table of the Redeemed who partake of the Bread of Heaven. When the troubles of life assail you, listen carefully for the sound of the dinner bell ringing. “Here comes my food! Let’s pray!

Blessed Bread of Heaven; What a rich Table you have prepared for me. I gladly partake of the Bread of Heaven…the Bread of eternal life, prepared for me. I am eternally grateful for your presence in every situation of life. You are my All-In-All, and I praise You, O Lord. Amen!

Categories

