Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 3, 2014

October 3, 2014 “The Ant Farm (Evangelism to the Max)”

“Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, was one of the two who had heard John’s words and had followed Jesus. 41 The first thing he did was to find his brother Simon. He said to him, “We have found the Christ!” ( John 1: 40-41)

Good Morning My Friends in Christ!

Like most all children I know, as I was growing up, I had my favorite toys and games. I enjoyed board games like “Candy Land” and “Sorry”. I had fun playing with electric trains and toy cars. I even had a sort of penny arcade game where little prizes would spin round on a turntable while you’d endeavor to capture them with a steam shovel type of contraption…an early version of those hook machines you can find in many restaurants where kids today (and admittedly some adults as well), try to latch on to a stuffed animal. They were all fun, but one of my favorites was one where you basically just watched with fascination. It was an ant farm! For those unfamiliar with ant farms, they were thin plastic or acrylic containers in which you would place sand and ants. Once inside their new “home”, you could watch as the ants as they would build an intricate system of connecting tunnels, just as they would underground. It was fun watching them scurry from one to the other, each with a purpose. Ants are fascinating insects, hard workers, and I believe are one of the finest examples of what Christian evangelism ought to look like. Why do I say that? Let me ask you something…did you ever by accident leave the lid of a jelly jar on a kitchen counter, only to find it covered with ants the next day? You know what I’m talking about! You come out the next morning, only to find it swarming with ants and more hot on its trail. There’s never just one ant there…there are many. Sometime during that period of neglect, an ant scout found this sweet treat. Now this ant could have chosen, I suppose, to keep this discovered treasure a secret and gouged on all that sugary goodness alone. But that’s not the nature of ants. Oh no! This ant went and told all the other ant buddies about the discovery so all could enjoy. The ant had good news to share, and shared it willingly, as did the others in the colony.

Let’s translate this over to Christian evangelism, using Simon Peter’s brother Andrew as our example. Andrew had become a follower of the preaching of John the Baptist. He was present in the desert the day Jesus came to be baptized and heard his hero John announce, “Behold! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.”  He beheld Jesus, the Christ! What was his reaction to this momentous discovery? In his Gospel, John tells us that  The first thing he did was to find his brother Simon. He said to him, “We have found the Christ!”  Like the ant that discovered the jelly jar lid, full of excitement about the good news of his discovery, the “first thing” Andrew did was to find his brother and tell him of his discovery. That’s evangelism to the max!    The great preacher and author Charles Spurgeon put it very well when he said,

“As soon as a man has found Christ, he begins to find others.”

Those of us who know Christ as Lord have great news to share…news that others need to hear that they might join in the celebration of the redeemed. Have you shared your good news with anyone recently? Tell your children. Tell your friends. Tell your co-workers. Tell everyone you know about the “jelly jar lid”…the Good News of salvation and grace that is Jesus Christ! Let’s Pray!

Dear Lord; I have been so blessed in coming to know You as my Lord and my God…my Savior and my King. I am filled to overflowing and want to share this good news with everyone. Embolden me for that mission, Lord, that others may also hear and believe. This I pray in my Savior’s Blessed Name! Amen

 

Categories

