Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | September 3, 2014

September 3, 2014 “The Blessed Robbery”

“The man who finds a wife finds a treasure, and he receives favor from the Lord.” (Proverbs 18:22)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

As a family, we’re celebrating today! It’s the anniversary of my beautiful bride’s 25th birthday. (Wisely, I won’t say which ¬†anniversary it is numerically, but that isn’t so important…and you really don’t need to know.) Suffice it to say, I am singularly blessed to share it with her and to celebrate it all day long as her husband. Some 14+ years ago, I found a treasure (in a bank, of all places), and there was a robbery at that very bank that day…she stole my heart! She stole my heart, but it was I that found a treasure and along with it, the favor of the Lord, for not too long afterwards, she accepted my proposal of marriage! I found a wonderful wife and the love of my life. If that weren’t enough of a blessing, it turns out that she is a woman of God, a prayer warrior, a partner in ministry, and she makes a carrot cake that would knock your socks off!

My message today is directed particularly to those of you who are married. Men…do you regard your bride as a treasure? Do you treat her as you would treat your most valued and prized possession? For that is exactly what she is! Demonstrate your love for her every day. Don’t just tell her you love her (though that is of utmost importance in and of itself)…show her that you love her. Listen to her. Elevate her. Do unexpected, loving things for her. Pray with her and for her. Occasionally, take her to one of those sappy love story movies and forego the action pic you would have preferred seeing (unless, of course, that is exactly the movie she wants to see as well). Worship with her. Love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength, for in being a man of God you will inevitably be a better husband to your wife.

Wives, you are a treasure, but you are not the center of the universe. God holds that position, and as your husband loves you best by loving God most, so should you love God most of all and serve Him most of all. In doing so, you sparkle like the diamonds you desire (my wife, by the way, LOVES diamonds)! There is nothing more beautiful than a woman who loves the Lord, save the Lord Himself.

Happy birthday to the love of my life…my treasure. Having you as my wife tells me how much God loves me, too. I have received favor from the Lord, and I praise Him each day for it. Let’s Pray!

Blessed Lord of My Life; How I thank you and praise You for the most undeserved favor of a godly wife to make my life’s journey with me. Thank you for this most extraordinary blessing. I ask that You would particularly bless her on this special day, that it would be a day filled with joyous celebration for all You have done. May blessings abound! In Jesus’ Holy Name i pray. Amen!

Categories

