Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | August 5, 2014

August 5, 2014 “Bubbles In The Milk”

“He who sits in the heavens laughs”  (Psalm 2:4)

Good Morning Faithful Friends in Christ!

Yesterday, as I was doing a little local sightseeing with my bride in the Amish Country of Lancaster County, PA, we happened to visit one of the many antique shops in the area. Rooms full of everything imaginable filled the aisles. It rather reminded me of the old expression, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.” This place had everything from old pump handles to rusty oil cans to baseball memorabilia to soda bottles…I could go on and on. But not one of these caught my attention the way a little girl with her parents did. I’m guessing she was about 4 years old (and I am a pretty good guesser at such things, what with 20 grandchildren). She was telling “Knock-Knock” jokes to her daddy, and all his attention was focused upon him. He laughed at some nonsensical efforts of hers and she would stop and hug him and kiss his leg (that’s as far as she could get at the time). It was a sweet scene indeed. I particularly loved the laughter. Genuine laughter is a beautiful thing indeed. My mother loves to laugh, and attributes her longevity,at least in part, to this trait. It is undoubtedly a gift from God.

The Word tells us that we are made in God’s image. The verse from Psalm 2 indicates that God also has a sense of humor and laughs. I think God, like that loving father I saw in the antique shop, laughs at the silliness of his children…the things we say and do. He delights in us as we come before him in prayer. It is has amazing grace that permits us to even stand in his Holy presence. Theologian Karl Barth compared laughter to the grace of God by writing,

“Laughter is the closest thing to the grace of God”

As you think about it, understanding God’s grace does bring laughter to our hearts. We realize our own silliness and own unworthiness. Tears of confession are transformed into tears of joy and laughter because of his amazing grace. Shame and remorse are removed, and replaced by the overflowing cup of gratitude that bubbles up the way milk does when a child blows into it with a straw (which I find amusing…I did as a child, and I still do today).  I think that’s why Jesus said “unless you change and become like little children, you shall never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3)  Let the joy of the Lord dwell richly within you. I feel quite certain it will bubble forth in joyous laughter. Let’s pray!

Gracious Lord; being in Your presence is sheer joy. I laugh with delight to know that You love me. I sing your praises. I dance before you. I lift up my heart and my hands in praise in this new day You have graciously granted me. I praise you and adore you with all my heart, and I love you so much, God of my life. Come, Lord Jesus! Amen!

Categories

