Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 23, 2014

July 23, 2014 “Shoes For Everyone”

“And all the believers lived in a wonderful harmony, holding everything in common. They sold whatever they owned and pooled their resources so that each person’s need was met.” (Acts 2: 44-45)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

Sometimes I get to wondering about things for no particular reason…things that spark my imagination, usually because they are a bit “odd”. For example, have you ever stopped to consider the fact that the combination of the letters “OUGH”, when used in the English language to spell certain words, has many different pronunciations? Think about these examples: “bough”…”bought”…”tough”..”though”. No wonder I had such a difficult time with English class in high school! And then there’s this strange reality…as you’re driving down a highway, have you ever taken notice to the fact that there is often one shoe along the side of the road…never two shoes…just the one? Why is that? While having breakfast with my mother this morning, I read one of those little papers with anecdotes, recipes, etc. inside. There was a short article about Gandhi that caught my attention. It seems he was riding on a train in India one day and lost one of his shoes. Immediately, he took off his remaining shoe and threw it in the direction of the one he had lost. When asked why he had done this, he replied,

“The poor man who finds the shoe lying on the track will now have a pair he can use.”  

Though not himself a Christian, in this act, Gandhi demonstrated a characteristic we see evidenced in the early Christian Church. Their attitude was one of mutual support for one another. When there was a need, they did what they could do to meet the need. Think about it…in the story of Gandhi I just related, he could have chalked his loss of a shoe up to a bit of bad luck and kept his other shoe…but to what end? He no longer had any real use for his remaining shoe. But by doing what he did, he made those shoes of value once again to someone else in need. He didn’t hold on to what he had, but saw it as belonging as much to a stranger as to himself.  The late songwriter Harry Chapin wrote a song reflective of this view called ” I Wonder What Would Happen To This World? The first verse goes, “Now, if a man tried to take his time on earth and prove before he died what man’s life could be worth, oh, I wonder what would happen to this world?” I wonder what would happen to this world if we lived out that Christian principle day by day? I think I have a pretty good idea…shoes for everyone! Let’s pray!

Heavenly Father; I have been so blessed by You. I have plenty of food, friends who love me and pray for me, shelter, provision of all sorts. Thank you. Instill in my heart that these things are not merely for my benefit, but are also distributed that they may bless those all around me, whether or not I know them personally, for you know each one as intimately as you know me. May I reflect your love that Your name may be glorified. I pray this in Jesus’ blessed name. Amen!

Categories

