Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 10, 2014

July 11, 2014 “And That’s The Truth”

 At that time there was no king in Israel. People did whatever they felt like doing.” Judges 21:25 

Good Morning Everyone!

Has anyone ever said to you, “Well, that may be true for you..”  in response to a comment you made about your belief in God? Many a believer has been challenged by such dismissive words from a non-believer throughout history. The last verse of the Book of Judges sums up quite well the course of human history when it comes to deciding what is right and what is wrong. People are still prone to doing whatever they feel like doing, with morality, truth, and absolutes being dismissed as having no particular relevance whatsoever. When challenged with the question as to what their particular standard of “good” might be, it is usually something along the lines of whatever society they happen to inhabit dictates. In other words, there is no absolute standard. This, of course, logically leads to a totally untenable position that “anything goes”. This results in a chaotic state of being, completely contrary to God’s ultimate design for our lives. When I was a child, my parents, thankfully, did not allow me to just “run amuck”, doing whatever I pleased. I had boundaries. I was expected to obey those boundaries. At the time, I may not have been pleased that those boundaries were there, not just to restrict me, but to protect me and teach me. They were there for my benefit, and they were based in Biblical principles of what was right and what was wrong. As people, we value free will, and we are, in fact, “free” to believe whatever we desire, but what we believe may or may not be correct just because we choose to believe it. Christian apologist Ravi Zacharias wrote,

“We have a right to believe whatever we want, but not everything we believe is right.” 

Goodness and truth are not relative realities…they are absolute. Truth is always true…it isn’t dependent upon my particular viewpoint. Goodness is always good, not because I say it is, but because it, like truth, it is absolute. Their absoluteness comes from a source greater than myself. They come from the One Who is the embodiment of all Truth and all Goodness…the author of them is the Eternal God. Check your beliefs. Do they line up with the One who said of Himself, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life”?  If not, it is time for a reevaluation of what you believe, and that’s the truth! Let’s pray!

Holy Lord; You are the author of all truth, the embodiment of all that is good and right and absolute. teach us to trust in You more than in our own opinions. lead us into an understanding of all truth, that we might live in accordance with Your most perfect will. This we pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen

Categories

