Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 5, 2014

July 5, 2014 “Revealing Day”

“I will praise you, Lord, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Marvelous are your works.” (Psalm 139:14)

Good Morning Faithful Friends!

Yesterday was special. Oh, I know that many of you are thinking of the fact that we celebrated Independence Day in America and it was a national holiday…and I don’t deny that. But for those in my immediate family it was particularly special. Many of them had gathered at my son Zachary’s house in Council Bluffs, Iowa for a family get-together. Those gathered had a ball…lots of food, fun, and fireworks. It was a great day. But one of our daughters, Becky, who lives in Indiana with her husband Greg, was unable to join the festivities because of distance, and neither were we. But here’s where the extra special part comes in. Becky and Greg, our son-in-law, had a “party” of their own…a “ Revealing Day Party.” Some weeks ago, they announced the wonderful news to our family that they are expecting their first child in November. In fact, Thanksgiving Day is her due date! Yesterday, after posting sonogram pictures of “Baby Wilson”, they had their “Revealing Day Party”, announcing to us all that the baby she is carrying is a boy! They had a blue cake with white icing, made phone calls, posted pictures, and we all celebrated. For Lydia and me, this will be our 13th grandson and 21st grandchild! WHOHOO!  Today, we possess the technology to make such revealing parties possible. Long before sonograms, however, and even before they are capable of determining the gender of a child, we have been known. Our gender, our name, our birthdate have already been determined by the One Who fashioned us. In fact, scripture tells us that the Lord knew us even before conception! Certainly, we are, as the Psalmist has written, “fearfully and wonderfully made.” God’s handiwork is marvelous indeed! This is a cause for prayerful meditation. Here is part of such a prayer by an unknown author:

Dear God, 

I come to your throne room to celebrate my special day. You chose this date as my own personal arrival day. As I made my entrance, I was so tiny and helpless. From my first moment, you have loved me. Even before I was born, you loved me. You will not allow anything to separate me from your love.”

Yes, “Revealing Day”, was special in our family. How much more celebrative will “Revealing Day” be when the astounding love of Jesus Christ, the one who fashioned yet-to-be-born Baby Wilson, is revealed in his heart. Now that will be cause for celebration! Let’s pray!

O, Most Gracious and Glorious God; how we celebrate your goodness and loved revealed in the life of this new baby boy. Surround him even now with your protective hand as he is prepared for his introduction to the world outside the womb. Even now, you have placed eternity in his heart, and we praise you. May I live long enough in this life to see him come to a saving knowledge of You, declaring you to be his Lord, his Savior, and his God. Thank you, God, for marvelous are your works. Amen!

 

 

Categories

