Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 27, 2014

May 27, 2017 “Do You Want To Be Healed?”

“When Jesus saw him stretched out by the pool and knew how long he had been there, he said, “Do you want to get well?” The sick man said, “Sir, when the water is stirred, I don’t have anybody to put me in the pool. By the time I get there, somebody else is already in.” Jesus said, “Get up, take your bedroll, start walking.” (John 5: 6-9)

Good Morning Miracle Believers!

   February 21, 2006 started out as a typical Tuesday for me. At that time,I was serving a church in St. Joseph, MO. It was our custom to have a staff meeting in the morning. While at this particular meeting, I received a phone call that one of our parishioners was very near death. My assistant pastor and I suspended the meeting and immediately went to the home of our dying friend, singing “Jesus Loves Me” at his bedside as he passed from this world to the arms of Christ. The hospital was very nearby, so Doug (my associate) and I decided to go and visit some patients. As we walked into the hospital lobby, I stopped Doug and told him I thought I needed to go to the emergency room. We immediately went, and I was examined by the cardiologist on duty who informed me he wanted to immediately do a heart cath procedure on me. I called Lydia and told her what was happening, and of course she came right over to the hospital. I was having a heart attack! The procedure was performed and i was informed that one of the main heart arteries was 100% blocked! Three others were 95% blocked, and I would require an open heart surgical bypass. There were two surgeons on staff, one of which was the worship leader of the church I was serving, so I, of course, requested that she do the surgery. The fact that I am now telling you this some eight years later proves the wisdom of that choice. I knew her to be a woman of God and a woman of prayer, and that as she operated she would also be praying. Another physician and author by the name of Larry Dossy wrote,

“Not to employ prayer with my patients was the equivalent of deliberately withholding a potent drug or surgical procedure. “
Prayer is just as important in the healing process as the most necessary of drugs or the greatest of surgical skills for the surgeon. As I read today’s passage, I read of a man who waited by the healing pool of Bethdesda for thirty-eight years” waiting to be healed by going into the water at the appropriate time. It makes me wonder if anyone had prayed for him in all that time.Certainly no one helped him to the pool, so it is doubtful that anyone prayed, either. Thankfully, Jesus came by and healed him. The day I walked into that hospital, I went with a prayer warrior…my friend Doug. Another prayer warrior, my bride followed. Still another prayer warrior, my cardiologist, diagnosed the problem. Then another skilled prayer warrior, my surgeon, successfully operated on me while hundreds of other prayer warriors lifted me up before the Throne of Grace! Of course I was healed! How could it have turned out any other way? When people intercede for us, Jesus hears and asks us, as he did the man at the pool…do you want to be healed? I suggest you respond affirmatively when asked. Let’s pray!
Heavenly Father; You are the Great Physician. In My prayer this day, i want to thank You for Your response to those prayers made on my behalf. I want to thank You as You provide opportunity to return that blessing of prayer on to others who are in need of such, and that includes everyone i know, be they ill or not. Thank you, Lord, for such a gracious gift. Amen!

 

Categories

