Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 23, 2014

May 23, 2014 “The ‘Soul Agenda’

“I will be there to greet you personally and welcome you home, where we will be together.” (John 14:3)

Good Morning Servants of Christ!

“You’re no good. You’ll never amount to anything. You’re nothing but a loser. Just think of all the terrible things you’ve done and you call yourself a Christian! How could God, if He is just as you say, allow the likes of you into heaven? Face it. You’ve always been a sinner and you’ll die a sinner.”

Does any of this sound familiar to you? Most likely it does if you are a Christian. Is that surprising to you? It shouldn’t be. You’ve likely heard words like that or very similar in your own thoughts. Perhaps you’ve even uttered them as you’ve looked at yourself in the mirror or as you’ve engaged in some activity that you knew to be wrong. Where do those thoughts come from? I can tell you this…it isn’t the voice of Jiminy Cricket! Rather, it is the voice of the Accuser, your enemy the devil. His “soul agenda” (pun intended), is to convince you of your unworthiness, your guilt, and your hopelessness. He is constantly at work to steal your joy in Christ and make you believe that you are lost indeed in your sinful state. He invades your conscience…your personal “Jiminy Cricket”, whispering his half-truths and lies , endeavoring to make you believe that which is not so.

Here’s the truth from God’s word:  Therefore, if anyone is united with the Anointed One, that person is a new creation. The old life is gone—and see—a new life has begun!” (2 Corinthians 5:17). You are not the one the Accuser says you are. Once you were, but no more. Christian reformer Martin Luther said,

“So when the devil throws your sins in your face and declares that you deserve death and hell, tell him this: “I admit that I deserve death and hell, what of it? For I know One who suffered and made satisfaction on my behalf. His name is Jesus Christ, Son of God, and where He is there I shall be also!” 

This is Christ’s promise to his disciples. He has prepared a place for us in heaven to spend eternity with Him. The price of our sin has already been paid in full. We are purchased by Him and we belong to Him. The next time you are tormented by guilt, say to the devil , as Martin Luther suggests, “I admit that I deserve death and hell, what of it? For I know One who suffered and made satisfaction on my behalf. His name is Jesus Christ, Son of God, and where He is there I shall be also!”  Then turn and give God the glory for your deliverance and forgiveness in thankful prayer! Let’s pray!

Merciful God; I know my sins are gone and I’ve been set free in Christ Jesus, who has made righteous that which was once unrighteous…my own sin nature. Thank You, Lord, that I shall never be separated from You through all eternity. My life is in You, Lord, and I praise You in humble, joyful adoration, and shall do so forever and ever. Amen!

Categories

