Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 22, 2014

May 22, 2014 “Joyous Recognition”

“Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again. (John 3:3)

Good Morning My Friends!

Sixty-five years ago today in a small hospital in Columbia, PA, my eyes were open to a world unfamiliar to me…a world of sights, sounds, and smells…a world of tasting and touching…a world of joys and tears. I can’t verify it, but I expect I cried, because most newborns do upon that experience we call birth. I saw my mother and dad for the first time, (though I don’t remember doing so). Later on that day, I likely met my brother Jerry, but I don’t remember that either. I was only cognizant that things had changed for me, and I reacted to those strange, wonderful, frightening, and intriguing new realities with tears. Physical birth usually brings one to tears.

Some years later…around the age of five or six, a new “gestation period” began in my heart. A new seed was planted. I became aware of someone called Jesus. All I knew of Him was His name and that He loved me. Just as I did in my mother’s womb, I began to take form spiritually until that wonderful day I was reborn…this time spiritually…into a life even more astounding than that of my physical birth. This time, when I laid eyes on my “Father”, I recognized Him. I already knew His Name…the Name above all others. I cried again…this time not in fear or ignorance, but in rapturous wonder and joy. The words of the song that were planted in my heart beginning my  second “conception”- “Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so” –I now clearly, (but even to this day not completely), understood. Others have stated it more eloquently than have I. For example, Christian author and pastor A.W. Tozer writes,

“The moment the Spirit has quickened us to life in regeneration our whole being senses its kinship to God and leaps us in joyous recognition.” 

Yes! Yes! That says it well. All those senses with which I had been born sixty-five years ago today…my whole being, is now fully aware of my relationship to the One who fashioned me in my mother’s womb…the One who knew my name before I took my first breath. Joyous recognition that Jesus is my Lord, my God, my Savior, and my King is mine, for I have been born again, and I shall never cease praising Him, because “I am my Beloved’s and He is mine. His banner over me is love.”  Those who know Him understand what I am saying. In time, Nicodemus, to whom Jesus spoke the words of today’s verse, came to understand it, as have millions of others. Talk to Him. Seek Him in prayer. Let your eyes be open to behold His glory. Be born again! Let’s pray!

Holy and Gracious God, giver of Life; Thank You for opening my eyes and my heart, and all my senses into the joyous recognition of Your goodness, Your grace, and Your love. Thank you for my rebirth into life eternal. Though this earthly life of mine will someday end, my life in You will never end, and I shall join in the eternal song of praise around Your glorious Throne declaring, even as i do now, “Worthy is the Lamb.” Jesus is Lord! Amen!

Categories

