Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 20, 2014

May 20, 2014 “Much More Than Expected”

“Don’t be afraid of missing out. You’re my dearest friends! The Father wants to give you the very kingdom itself.”  (Luke 12:32)

Good Morning My Friends!

Some years ago, I served a church in Texas as their Interim Pastor, which is the call God has placed on my heart. Now for those unfamiliar with interim ministry, I serve churches that are transitioning from one pastor to another. This often takes about two years to be accomplished in the churches I serve. Inevitably, the time of departure comes, and my ministry with a particular church is completed. Quite often, as it comes time for me to leave, the church expresses its appreciation with some sort of farewell dinner and a love gift. This was the case with the church in Texas. People expressed their love with warm greetings and some gave love gifts. As always, I was grateful for their generous expressions of appreciation. About a month after leaving, I received my last paycheck and was surprised that there was a small extra amount included. I called to ask why and was informed that it was in addition to the love gift given to me by the church body. Now I informed the treasurer that while I had received several gifts from individuals, I had not received a gift from the church as a whole. he told me it should have been in the card given to me by the church. I remembered no such gift, so he told me that he would just directly deposit it into our checking account. A week or so later, I was flabbergasted when I saw our new account balance. The gift from the congregation was far larger than anything I had anticipated. What an incredible blessing!

Sometimes, we ask God for a blessing and it doesn’t immediately come to us, and we get discouraged believing that God doesn’t hear our request. St. Anselm of Canterbury made an interesting observation of this situation centuries ago. He observed:

“God does not delay to hear our prayers because He has no mind to give, but that, by enlarging our desires, He may give us the more largely.” 

Our God is a generous God, able to do far more than we can ask or even imagine. Sometimes, our requests are too small. We may ask God for a little more grace. He is waiting for us to ask for a lot more that he is readily willing and able to provide. We may ask God that we might have a better day physically, while He is prepared to heal us totally. When our requests are aligned with His perfect will, we can expect the extraordinary, for God fills our cup to overflowing. Don’t be discouraged if you don’t receive just what you ask for of God. He is ready to give you so much more, for he delights in giving good and perfect gifts because he loves you. Let’s pray!

God of grace and Glory; I come to You today with joyful expectation of Your blessing. You have clearly demonstrated how much you love me through the matchless gift of Your own Son, Jesus. Forgive me for expecting too little of You, or for being impatient when my own prayer request is not immediately answered. You give every good and perfect gift, and no one out-gives You. Thank You, father, for Your astounding love and grace. In Jesus’ Name I pray. Amen

Categories

