Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 19, 2014

May 19, 2014 “A Clean Slate”

“They’ll all get to know me firsthand,  the little and the big, the small and the great. They’ll get to know me by being kindly forgiven, with the slate of their sins forever wiped clean.” (Hebrews 8: 11-12)

Good Morning Beloved Friends in Christ!

Do you remember the last time you grieved the heart of someone you knew through some regretful word or deed? It probably isn’t too difficult an assignment, for all of us, at one time or another, have said or done something hurtful or mean-spirited. Along with that, do you remember asking for forgiveness from that person and receiving it? What a weight is lifted when that person forgives us for the wrong we have done. It doesn’t always come, but when it does, it is a great blessing to us and we feel relieved and restored in that relationship.

Now let’s reverse things. Suppose we’re the one who has been wronged in some fashion. Hurt, anger, and resentment arise within us when we are wronged. Some of us hold on to that anger and hurt even when the person who has wronged us seeks our forgiveness. As you consider these feelings, perhaps even now there is someone that comes to mind…someone who has hurt you deeply whom you have not forgiven. Now read the words from Hebrews at the top of this post. Each one of us has said or done something that has grieved the heart of God. We’ve sinned. We’ve disobeyed him. We’ve ignored him. We’ve harbored anger, jealousy and malice in our hearts, yet God has forgiven us…wiped the slate clean.  When I was in grade school I enjoyed the opportunity of washing the blackboard at the end of the day.. It would bother me if I saw a chalk mark, however small, that was overlooked after the job was done. I liked to make sure the slate was wiped completely clean. That’s what God has done with the chalkboard of our unrighteousness. He has wiped it clean. We are spotless and forgiven of every transgression. This should be our attitude towards those who have wronged us. The great author C.S. Lewis wrote,

“To be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.” 

Forgiveness defines us as Christians. Not one of us could be truly identified as a Christian without being forgiven. Likewise, not one of us could truly be defined as a Christian without a reciprocation of forgiveness towards others. Let go of that anger. Do away with harboring hurt. Forgive as the Lord has forgiven you. Let’s pray!

Gracious and Merciful God; I pray that the forgiving love You have shown me in my life would be reflected in my attitude towards those who have wronged me. teach me to forgive as i have been forgiven by You in Your great mercy. Remind me of how I have been forgiven by You with the slate wiped clean. This I humbly pray in Jesus Great Name. Amen!

Categories

