Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | May 5, 2014

May 5, 2014 “A Lesson from The Master Teacher”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:27)

Good Morning dear Friends!

I am writing this blog from a hotel lobby in Clarksville, Tennessee. Why? Because that’s where I am right now. I’m on vacation! It’s a time to rest, refresh, visit family, celebrate, and recharge.

All of us need such time. In fact, God set the example for us. In Genesis 2:2, we read, ”  “On the seventh day, God rested from all his work.” Did God really need a break? Was God “worn out” from speaking the world into being and populating the earth with all manner of living things? Of course not! God is omnipotent…all powerful. The Psalmist says “The guardian of Israel never slumbers…never sleeps” (Psalm 121:4) This naturally begs the question, “Why, then, did God “rest”?” I believe it was to set us an example. Throughout his earthly ministry, Jesus urged his disciples to “do as I do”. He was, and is, the Master teacher”, and it is the wise disciple that follows Christ’s examples when it comes to living. We are called to labor, without doubt, but we are also called to times of rest from those labors. Someone might ask me…”If that’s true, pastor Mike, then why are you writing this prayer blog?” For me, this is akin to a Sabbath time…a time spent with God, and i never take a vacation from that. In fact, that would be completely counterproductive as it relates to rest. Read that verse at the top of the blog once again:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:27)

Lydia and I will have a wonderful vacation. We will return rested and blessed, prepared for whatever adventures God has in mind for us. In the meantime, we will find refreshment for body and soul as we rest in the Lord. Let’s pray!

Holy God; Our souls cannot rest until they find their rest in Thee. Teach us the wisdom found in resting form our labors. teach us that you are ready to refresh us each day. Thank you, God, for such a gift. hear our prayers we life in Jesus’ blessed Name! Amen!

Categories

