Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 25, 2014

April 25, 2014 “Already There”

“Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit?  to be out of your sight? If I climb to the sky, you’re there! If I go underground, you’re there! If I flew on morning’s wings  to the far western horizon,You’d find me in a minute— you’re already there waiting!” (Psalm 139: 7-10)

Good Morning Fellow Prayer Sojourners!

When i was a small child of about 4 or 5, (I don’t remember my exact age), I do recall a day when i was with my mom and dad in the city of Lancaster, PA, where we’d often go shopping on a Saturday morning. back then, the downtown area was the place to be if you wanted to visit the big department stores with their many floors of merchandise. There were also streetcars, movie theaters, restaurants, lunch counters, street vendors, etc. It was vibrant and lively. But for a small boy it was not only exciting but just a little intimidating. I would hold tightly to the hand of my mother and dad as we walked along the street. As it happened, one day, I let go of my dad’s hand and walked a few steps, and felt that secure hand grasp mine again. Walking a little further along, I looked up and to my shock, I discovered I was holding the hand of a complete stranger! I think I cried (I did that a lot as a child), but there in front of me were my mom and dad, who found the entire harrowing episode just a little amusing. They knew I was safe. The stranger to me wasn’t a stranger to them. Mom and dad were already there, watching over me. Nonetheless, I was not a happy child. They represented my security, and for a few moments, I felt totally vulnerable and frightened.

From time to time, we may feel that God has abandoned us. For that matter, there may even be times when we’d just as soon not have him knowing what we’re doing! But God never lets us out of his sight, because he cares for us. David understood this as he wrote this Psalm. He understood that his security was to be found in the Lord who knew his every move…his every thought…his every fear. He knew a God who would pursue him in love should he stray, for david was never out of his sight…and neither are we. realizing this, we also realize that our prayers never fall on deaf ears…that they are never unheard by God. Evangelist George Mueller thought of it like this:

“I live in the spirit of prayer; I pray as I walk, when I lie down and when I rise, and the answers are always coming.” 

He lived his life in the spirit of prayer wherever he went, knowing God was with him wherever he went. As he walked, God walked with him. When he would lie down, he understood God was there. When he woke up, God was already there with him, ever ready to hear and answer his prayers. Believe it, my friends. God cares for you. You will never be out of His sight. Call on Him…He will hear you and answer you…always. Let’s pray!

Sovereign king of Glory; I know You are with me. I know you are ever watching over me. I know that You love me with an everlasting love. I know how precious I am to You. Thank You for Your unfailing love and grace. Holy is Your Name! Amen!

Categories

