Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 12, 2014

April 12, 2014 “A Two-Way Street”

“One more thing, friends: Pray for us. Pray that the Master’s Word will simply take off and race through the country to a groundswell of response, just as it did among you.” (2nd Thessalonians 3:1) 

Good Morning Faithful Friends in Christ!

The further I travel on the journey of ministry God has set me on, the more reflective I become as I think back to the places I have served and the people I have met. Quite often, people have asked me where my favorite place of service has been. When it comes to geography and climate, there is more objectivity from which to elicit a response. But when it comes to a particular church, the response is much more subjective. Answering such a question is like asking me which one of my children is my favorite! Each is dear to my heart. Each is unique. It’s the same with the churches I have served. Were the question put in such a way as “where did you find you were most effective in your work”, I would have more objectivity with which to give a more active response. As I consider that self-asked question, I would have to conclude that my effectiveness at any particular church was, and is, directly proportional to the amount of prayer made on my behalf by the people of the congregation. While I have no way of knowing just who and how intently people are interceding on my behalf before the Throne of Grace, I do have some measure of objectivity based on my particular effectiveness among the flock. This is, of course, a two-way street. I must be as intent in my prayers for those I serve as they are for me. When this powerful prayer partnership is forged, success is sure to follow.

The apostle Paul understood this principle. He adjured the Thessalonian Christians to “Pray for us.” The “us” he spoke of included Paul and all those who labored alongside  him in the spreading of the Gospel throughout the world. He urged them to pray specifically that “the Master’s word will simply take off and race through the country to a groundswell of response”, as it did for them. The church I am now serving has just called a new pastor. I urge you to be in prayer for him, just as you have for me. Pray that the Master’s word will ignite like a rocket blasting off the launchpad as he engages in this new call. Oswald Chambers, one of my favorite Christian thinkers, writes,

“There is nothing to be valued more highly than to have people praying for us; God links up his power in answer to their prayers.”

Spiritual power is unleashed by powerful prayer. Do you want your pastor to be successful in ministry? Pray for him. Do you want people to come to Christ through your ministry? Pray for that to be a reality. Pray and Work. ORA ET LABORA! Let’s pray!

Awesome Lord; with humility and intent we come to You this day, praying that the great Good news of Christ would sweep across our community, our nation, and our world. Continue to empower those whom You have called and anointed specifically to do this important work effectively, tirelessly, and joyfully. This we pray in the Master’s Name, Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen!

Categories

