Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 3, 2014

April 3, 2014 “Your Guard At The Door”

“And do not give the devil a foothold.” (Ephesians 4:27)

Good Morning Beloved Friends in Christ!

When i was a student at Grove City College back in 1971, there were a couple of part-time jobs I held. For a time, I worked in the college cafeteria washing dishes. It wasn’t the most pleasant task, but it did provide a few extra needed dollars for more enjoyable pursuits. Later on, I tried my hand at selling cookware and china. I was not a particularly effective salesman. In fact, I was downright lousy at it! My “primary target clients” were usually newly-engaged or newly-married young women…the thought being they could be persuaded to shell out hundreds of dollars for the quality stainless steel cookware and fine china I was peddling. My biggest challenge, and one I was not very successful in accomplishing, was getting my proverbial “foot in the door” to begin with. Even when I managed to do so, I didn’t really sell very much, and soon left that position to pursue more lucrative pursuits. While my endeavor proved to be less than successful, on a spiritual level, there are competitors knocking at the door of your heart as well, anxious to come in and get a foothold in your lives…God and Satan. God is a gentleman, and awaits an invitation on your part. Perhaps you are familiar with the famous painting “The Light of the World” by William Holman Hunt, that pictures Christ knocking on a door with no handle on the outside of the door. He represented this “handle-less” door to illustrate the necessity for the one inside (you and me), to open the door and let him in. On the other hand, when Satan knocks at the door, his intent is to find even the smallest foothold where he can gain entrance and wreck havoc within our lives. Prayer opens the door to Christ, who says in Revelation 3:20,  “Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if any man hear My voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with Me”. When you hear that “Knock, Knock”, let him in. It’s not a joke. Be it morning or night, let him in through prayer. But make sure you know who it is that is knocking at your door. Charles Spurgeon warns,

“God’s mercy visits every house where night and morning prayers are made, but where these are neglected, sin is incurred.”

Prayer is your guard at the door. Be faithful in that, and when you hear that knocking, you can open the door with confidence, because like a barking dog deters a thief, persistent prayer drives the devil from your door. It’s a great and effective security system. Let’s pray!

O Lord; we hear you knocking at our door, waiting for us to invite you in. Your blessings are manifold, and you are welcome to take up residence in our lives. Do come in and make a home in our heart, we pray, in Jesus’ Mighty name. Amen!

Categories

