Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 22, 2014

march 22, 2014 “The Dream Encourager”

 

“The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it. From now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it. ” (John 14:12)

Good Morning Saints!

As i was growing up, I was blessed with encouraging parents and teachers. They were what I would call “Dream Encouragers”. Many people who have succeeded in life endeavors have had such people in their lives. They motivate you to reach for the stars. They prod you along when you become discouraged in some undertaking. They keep after you to get up and go when you’d much rather stay home in bed and pull the covers up over your head. Thank God for “Dream Encouragers.” Of course, the master Encourager” is Christ himself. The disciples were eyewitnesses to his many miracles. They heard his authoritative teaching. They saw his indomitable courage. How could they ever begin to carry forth his earthly ministry that he was entrusting to them? Did you hear what he said to them, this “Dream Encourager”? He told them quite clearly, “The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things.” Greater things than Christ himself? Did I hear that correctly? Greater things than the Son of God? Greater things than He Who spoke the world into being? “Greater”, I believe, in the sense, that the ministry which was being entrusted to them by Christ would reach beyond the scope of the geographical boundaries with which they were familiar. “Greater” in regard to a particular time. This would become a message and a ministry that would not end with Jesus’ earthly existence. His Kingdom would have no end…know no earthly bounds, not quietly pass into obscurity. These followers of Christ, and that includes those of us praying even today, continue to bring this Kingdom Word to people everywhere and for all time. Who would have thought such a thing? Jesus did. he was a “Dream Encourager.” The disciples caught on. So did Paul, as he boldly declared “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Jesus said, “From now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it.”  Oswald Chambers writes,

“Prayer means that I come in contact with an almighty Christ, and almighty results happen along the lines He laid down.”  

Believe what the Master says. So long as your requests are along the lines of who He is and what He does, you can be sure it will be done. He said he would! Trust him. Let’s Pray!

Lord, You are the Master Dream Encourager. Through You we move to greater things than we could begin to imagine. With and through You, all things are possible. We praise you, Holy Lord, and we lift up Your name now and forever. Glory to God! Amen!

Categories

