Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 9, 2014

March 9, 2014 “The Master Key”

“You will have complete and free access to God’s kingdom, keys to open any and every door: no more barriers between heaven and earth, earth and heaven.” (Matthew 16:19)

Good Morning and Blessed Lord’s Day Everyone!

“Pastor…could you come over to the church and unlock the door. I forgot my key and have no way to get in!”  I’ve heard that request made more than a few times in my thirty-nine years of ministry. Similarly, I’ve been called to come and lock up the church after a function as well. Most places I have served, I have been given a set of keys to unlock church doors. Sometimes I have keys on my key chain that I have never used, and wouldn’t even be sure which door to which room in the church they actually do open! Some will forever remain a mystery to me, because I do not really have the desire to try out every door or cabinet or desk in the church to see what it fits. So long as I possess the “master key” that allows me access to those really important places I need to go, I am a happy camper. I am often entrusted with such a key…ergo the calls for help.

Did you know who has been entrusted with such a “master key”? In Matthew’s Gospel, Jesus is speaking to Peter and tells him he is entrusting him with such a key…a wonderful key that will allow him to open any door between heaven and earth. So now that Peter has gone to be with the Lord, who holds that key? Some believe it is held by the current Roman Catholic Pope, having been passed down through the centuries. I have a different theory on the matter. I believe that such a master key is handed to us as children of the King. This master key opens every door between heaven and earth. You have it in your possession even now. It is a key that opens every new day and can safely bolt us in the room of God’s protective care when needed. It is the master key of prayer. It has been said,

” Let prayer be the key of the morning and the bolt at night.” 

Just as I open the door of the church each morning when I go to the office with the master key provided to me, I open the door of each new day with a prayer. At night, before I close my eyes in sleep, I bolt the door of God’s protective care with a nighttime prayer. It is a wonderful key. God will entrust you with such a key as you ask him to do so. The old hymn “Open My Eyes That I may See”  has a line that goes “Place in my hand the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free.” Such a request of the Lord will never be denied. Ask him. He has such a key for you. Let’s pray!

Precious Lord; Place in my hand the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free. Place in my hand the master key that shall open every door  between heaven and earth. place in my hand that key that secures me in the shelter of your presence. Thank you, lord, for your gracious care, this and every day. In Jesus’ Name I pray. Amen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories

