Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | February 22, 2014

February 22, 2014 “I’d Rather Press On”

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3: 13-14)

Greetings Dear Friends!

In my recent mail, I have begun to receive a plethora of mailings all reminding me that in just three months from today, I will be marking my 65th birthday. These are not early birthday greetings…oh no…but reminders to me that I am fast approaching what is considered to be traditional “retirement’ age, and that it’s time for me to sign up for medicare coverage. I would like to state here and now that it is not my intention, nor is it my desire, to retire at age 65. I love the work I do. I am called by God to do the work I do, and just as he has called me to the work I do, I believe he will let me know unequivocally when I am to “retire” from the work I do, and that is to, as Paul so eloquently put it, “press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Paul’s ministry journey took him to many places, as has mine. I don’t know the particulars of where I will be or when it will be that God speaks to my heart and directs me to rest from my labors, but until that time comes, as one of my favorite songwriters Gordon Lightfoot put it in one of his songs, “I’d Rather Press On.”  He writes,

Is it my imagination or is it my iron pride 
I wonder if it matters much if time is on my side 
I’d rather press on, I don’t wanta rest easy 
Anywhere I stray I will make it a brand new day 
Anyway that is all I gotta say ” 

I’d rather press on and continue to share the Good News of the Gospel with people. I’d rather press on and support the weak. I’d rather press on and help the afflicted. I’d rather press on and encourage the idle. I’d rather press on and honor all persons. I’d rather press on rejoicing in the power of the Holy Spirit. I’d rather press on in my prayer life and talk with God every day…morning, noon, and night. British evangelist and Bible scholar wrote,

“Prayer is life passionately wanting, wishing, desiring God’s triumph. Prayer is life striving and toiling everywhere and always for that ultimate victory. “

That’s what I’ll be striving to do. So keep sending me those medicare cards. Keep them coming. If i get enough of them, I’ll heat my home with them. Free fuel! As for me…I’d rather press on! Let’s pray!

Merciful God; Grant me the strength, I pray, to fulfill the desire of my heart, to press on to achieve the goal to which You have so graciously called me. This I pray in Jesus’ Blessed name. Amen!

Categories

