Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | February 8, 2014

February 8, 2014 “The Trouble With Skipping the “Salvation Stuff”

“And a cloud overshadowed them, and a voice came out of the cloud, “This is my beloved Son; listen to him.” (Mark 9:7)

“I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but by me.” (John 14:6)

Good Morning Dear Friends!

Since childhood, I have never been what anyone would call a very patient person. Just a tip…if you ever go shopping and are in a hurry and see me in a line, go to another line…not because i wouldn’t enjoy the company, but because invariably I will select the slowest moving line in the store (or so it seems to me). I will survey the check-out lines, usually selecting what appears to be the shortest one. Usually, the person in front of me needs a price check, or doesn’t have the exact change they are seeking, or some such thing. It’s uncanny, I tell you.  Upon further reflection, I do believe that this may, in fact, be the Lord’s way of teaching me patience…be it a slow line at the store or at a line of traffic, or whatever. Trying to rush through life isn’t God’s plan. In fact, patience is often listed in scripture as a virtue, e.g. ““love is patient” (1 Corinthians 13:4) “Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently for him to act” (Psalm 37:7).  Evidently, God is not fond of being rushed. When it comes to prayer, there are some who think of God as being more of an ‘errand boy” and that prayer is like calling down to the front desk at a hotel because you want some fresh towels delivered or an extra pillow for the bed. “Let’s skip all the “salvation stuff” and get to what I require now, God! After all, I’m a busy man!” Charles Spurgeon suggests,

“The man who, despite the teaching of Scripture, tries to pray without a Savior, insults the deity.” 

Overlooking what a true relationship with the Almighty is to be…coming to the father through the Son, is not only wrong, but an insult to God. He sends his very best on our behalf…his own beloved Son, and then for his Son to be ignored as being superfluous is the height of insult! In our communication with God, remember what Jesus said:  “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but by me.” (John 14:6) Patiently,and prayerfully, come to the Father through the Son. Let’s pray!

Merciful and Holy God: It is our desire to lift up Your name in thanksgiving and praise. Honoring Your Beloved Son pleases you and is our desire. All hail the power of Jesus’ Name, for He is Lord of All, and it is in His mighty name we pray this day. Amen!

Categories

