Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | January 30, 2014

January 30, 2014 “God’s Lock Box”

“Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.” (Matthew 6: 20-21- The Message Bible)

Good Morning Citizens of God’s Holy Nation!

Have you ever found money? Most of us, at one time or another, have stumbled across some small, or even sometimes large amounts of cash carelessly dropped by someone. I confess, I still bend down to pick up a penny someone has dropped and put it in my pocket (unless, of course, I know who dropped it!) When I was about 7 or 8 years old (don’t press me on the age), I remember finding a half dollar coin one time. Now that was a pretty big deal as a kid, in a day when you’d go around collecting discarded soda bottles to get two cents per bottle at the store. It was a real find. I was afraid of losing it, so someone suggested that I put it in my shoe, which I did. I walked around with that coin in my shoe for a few days. It was uncomfortable, but I felt secure. Well, somewhere in the course of days, I ended up losing my treasure. To this day I cannot figure out what happened to that largess, but it was gone, much to my dismay. It is never a wise idea to make earthly treasure your overarching goal in life…your heart’s fondest desire. Jesus teaches that making such things your life’s goal will leave you with nothing in the end. Far better, he says, to lay up a treasure for yourself in heaven, where it is safe from moths, rust, or burglars. God’s “lock box” is totally secure. Baptist evangelist Amzi Clarence Dixon suggests:

“The place of real prayer is the Christian’s treasure chamber.” 

God’s “lock box” , the Christian’s treasure chamber, is accessed through prayer. Prayer is where deposits into that lock box are made by the Christian. It’s much more reliable than a size 5 shoe. It’s more secure than a bank safety deposit box. It’s more valuable than any earthly inheritance.  If you haven’t already done so, open up a heavenly account with God today and make regular, daily deposits in it. The interest accrued is far better than you will find at any earthly bank or credit union. It is totally secure. Add prayer to your portfolio, and the dividends you will reap will be yours for all eternity. Let’s pray!

Precious Savior; The place where we most want to be is with You for all eternity. No place and nothing of this earth can begin to compare with a lifelong relationship with you…an eternal relationship with the One Who made all things. May you be our heart’s deepest desire. hear our prayer, O Lord, and keep us ever in your care, we pray, in Jesus’ blessed Name. Amen!

Categories

