Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | December 15, 2013

December 15-16, 2013 “The Mother Of A Thousand Blessings”

“Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.” (John 4:14- The Message Bible)

Good Evening/Morning Prayer Partners

After a particularly full and rather exhausting day, I sat down here at the computer to unwind a little, only to realize that in the rush of this day, I neglected to post my daily prayer reflection! I have decided to do so now, with one for tonight and tomorrow! I am figuring that some of you will read this tonight and some tomorrow, so hopefully, this will suffice!  I hope you do not regard this as laziness on my part, but will attribute it to the fullness each day of this particular time of year does seem to bring. Like the woman at the well to whom Jesus directed the words from John 4, I feel a deep need for refreshment and spiritual renewal. In her case, it ran deep into her soul, for not only was she an outcast from her own people because of her lifestyle, but tried to assuage that emptiness in all the wrong places…that was, until she encountered Jesus Christ! Just as there is a physical thirst that only a long, refreshing cool drink can assuage, there is a thirsting of the soul and spirit that only an encounter with the Lord of Life can mitigate.  In the fourth century, John Chrysostom wrote,

“Prayer “is the root, the fountain, the mother of a thousand blessings.”

I want to drink deeply from the “fount of every blessing” through communication with Christ. I long to be refreshed daily by that living water only he can provide. I want to be like the woman at the well, so astounded by grace that I would abandon everything else I was doing and run to tell others of that miracle fountain of life that he and only he can provide. What can give birth to such blessings but the mother of a thousand blessings…prayer itself! If your soul and spirit are thirsty, come and drink. You need no money. You need only an open heart and and a submissive heart. Let’s pray!

O Lord, You are the fountain of life itself. Quench the hungering and the thirsting of our soul and spirit with Your water of Life. Let it spring forth within us, manifesting in a thousand blessings. This we pray in Jesus’ blessed Name! Amen

Categories

