Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 14, 2013

November 14, 2013 “The Feeling Is Mutual”

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

Good Day to all my Prayer Partners,

As a child, I was quite a pouter. Likely, Lydia would tell you that I still am, which would be true. When I was a child and was disciplined for some disobedient act, I would pout and usually run up the stairs crying and yelling out to my parents “You don’t love me anymore!” Now I, of course, knew very well that my parents loved me, and time has proven that fact to indeed be true as it was then…but I wanted empathy. I wanted comfort, not discipline, not really understanding that discipline was an act of love just as much as comfort. I do not believe my parents took much delight in my pouting, nor did they in disciplining me. They did it because they cared for me. When I ached, they ached as well. They were empathetic when empathy was appropriate. And so it is with Almighty God. There are times when we may feel that God, being God, cannot relate to our difficulties. Then we read this from Hebrews:  “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are- yet without sin” (Hebrews 4:15)   Macrina Wiederkehr defines prayer life like this:

I strain toward God; God strains toward me. I ache for God; God aches for me. Prayer is mutual yearning, mutual straining, mutual aching.”

We do not pray to a God Who does not understand our cares and concerns. We pray to One who invites us to cast all our cares upon him because He cares for us. He is One who can empathize with us, for he has been where we are. He knows us intimately. Our God is not an indifferent, emotionless, detached entity “out there somewhere.” He knows us through and through. He knows our every weakness. He knows when we laugh with delight or cry with remorse. He knows our secret sins and our deepest desires. Best of all, knowing us even as we are, He loves us and cares for us. Accept His gracious invitation. Come and talk with him. Pour out your heart. Share your hopes and dreams. Cry on his shoulder. Delight in his love for you. Let’s pray!

O Lord God; We do not understand the sheer depth of your love for us. Teach us through our prayerful communication that You are One who deeply cares for us and desires the very best for us in every aspect of our lives. Bring us to that place of rejoicing in Your promised presence in this new day. Thanks be to You, our Lord, God, Savior and King. Amen!

 

Categories

