Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 8, 2013

November 8, 2013 “A Prayer Appointment”

“Seek the Lord while He may be found; call on him while He is near.” (Isaiah 55:6)

Good Morning Saints!

“Oh, I have so much to do today! I have to get up and ready for work. I have errands to run. the house is a mess and company’s coming. There are bills to pay. The car needs gas. I need to walk the dog. There’s choir practice tonight, and I am teaching a Sunday School class this week.”  Sound at all familiar to you? Most of us face what one author called “The Tyranny of the Urgent.” Our daily schedules fill up and we moan and groan about all the things we have to do but don’t seem to have the time to get it all done in the time allotted to us each day. I remember an occasion when one of my kids was going on about this and that and I replied, “Thomas Edison…Martin Luther…Paul…Ben Franklin..Abraham Lincoln.” Of course, my son was puzzled at this response and asked what in the world i was talking about. I said, “Well, as i recall, their days had the same amount of hours in them as yours does and look what they did with the time they had.” Though the answer was not what was desired, I think i made the point. The real question is not one of time, but what we do with the time we have.

One of my personal priorities, and incidentally, one that helps me prioritize my day and prepare me for what is in store, is time spent with God in prayer. Corrie Ten Boom had this to say about the importance of a “prayer appointment” with God:

Don’t pray when you feel like it. Have an appointment with the Lord and keep it.”

Today, I have a doctor’s appointment which i will keep. I have friends visiting with whom i will spend time. I have things to prepare for Sunday which i will do. most important of all, I have a daily prayer appointment appointment with God. I strive to start each day with Him. When i don’t keep that appointment, I am “dis-appointed”, for it is the most important appointment of my day. make your own prayer appointment with God, and as Corrie ten Boom suggests…“keep it.” Let’s pray!

Time spent with You, O Lord, is time well-spent indeed. May we learn the delight of being in Your presence daily, faithfully, and expectantly each and every day. This we do pray in Jesus’ Blessed Name! Amen!

Categories

