Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 5, 2013

November 5, 2013 “The Only Quiet, Secure Place”

“The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life—    of whom shall I be afraid?” (Psalm 27:1)

Good Morning Prayer Partners!

One of my favorite movies is the Rogers and Hammerstein classic from the mid-fifties, “The King And I.” There is a song from that great musical where Anna, the teacher who has come to what was then called Siam, teaches her young students a lesson in courage. She sings “Whenever I feel afraid, I hold my head erect and whistle a happy tune so no one will suspect I’m afraid.” As encouraging as this advice may have been to her students, there is an even better way to deal with fear and intimidation. It is a secret David learned early on in his life and one which he applied regularly…a secret that undoubtedly affected his prowess as a warrior and Israel’s most revered king. David’s ‘secret”, which he was more than happy to declare boldly , was his total reliance upon the source of his strength…the Lord God. In Psalm 27, David declares with absolute conviction, “The Lord is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear?” No dark dread, no fear of capture, no intimidation for David. He demonstrated complete confidence in the Lord. “The Lord is the stronghold of my life-of whom shall I be afraid.” Every successful warrior knew the importance of a well-fortified stronghold when going to battle. David’s stronghold was unshakable, and he knew it and declared it! In “The Message Bible, this stronghold is defined as “the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world, the perfect getaway from the buzz of traffic.” (Psalm 27:5)  The Psalms of David were prayers put to music. David encouraged himself with music, (much the way Anna suggested to the children of Siam), only he added the all-important dimension of prayer as well. I like this quote by Leonard Ravenhill, who observed, “A man who is intimate with God will never be intimidated by men.” David was such a man. You can be such a person as well. learn to be intimate with God. Let the “happy tune” you whistle be accompanied by the assurance of prayer and praise to our “light and our salvation-the stronghold of our lives…the Lord God Almighty! Let’s pray!

Mighty Lord; You are our strong deliverer, our light and our salvation. We need not be fearful knowing that You are always near. cast away any doubts we may have regarding your powerful presence in our lives. As we draw near to You in prayer, draw near to our hearts and minds with that blessed assurance of your protective presence. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen!

 

Categories

