Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | November 1, 2013

November 1, 2013 “A Triple Whammy”

“Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those that take refuge in him.” (Proverbs 30:5)

Good Morning Dear Saints!

Happy “All Saints Day” to you! Last night at our church, we had a fall party and invited people to come dressed in costume. It was all great fun, as costume parties usually are. We had lions and alligators, princesses and fairies, cowboys and Indians, policemen and, yes, even “Good Old Charlie Brown” was there. It was all great fun. I wore my “armor of God” that I often use in my time with the children to illustrate God’s protection. Someone commented that I had “outgrown my shield” (which was true, as the costume was really designed for someone much younger than me). It reminded me that in my spiritual life, I need the biggest shield possible to guard me from the attacks of my greatest foe, Satan. I am blessed, for such a shield is available for me, forged by the Almighty Himself. In fact, He is my shield, whose protective presence is accessible through prayer. John Bunyan, who wrote the classic “Pilgrim’s Progress”, said this of prayer:

“Pray often, for prayer is a shield to the soul, a sacrifice to God, and a scourge for Satan” 

My soul is vulnerable to the attack of my relentless enemy, Satan, and needs the protection of the Almighty, available through prayer and the Word. As I “sacrifice” with prayer before the Throne of Grace, I fill the heavenly places with a sweet aroma that is pleasing to God. “For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing” (2 Corinthians 2:15)

Our prayers are a “scourge for Satan.”  He knows that he cannot prevail against them. Take the advice John Bunyan offers. pray often, “for prayer is a shield to the soul, a sacrifice to God, and a scourge for Satan.” It’s a “triple whammy”! Let’s pray!

O Mighty Lord God; we need Your protective presence in our lives, to shield us from the attacks of the enemy. We come to You with prayer, which we know is a pleasing sacrifice to You. It is our prayer that the Enemy will see and know that he is a defeated foe when he comes up against us, for we are covered in Christ and guarded by Him. May the splendid aroma of Christ identify us to the world in this, and every new day. Amen

Categories

