Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 24, 2013

October 24, 2013 “So Others May See”

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden;  nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lamp stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5: 14-16)

Good Morning My Friends in Christ!

Like most kids growing up in the 50’s, I loved the weekends. I am sure it’s pretty much the same with boys and girls today.  First of all, there was no school! A typical Saturday morning was spent watching cartoons and westerns like Roy Rogers on television. This was usually followed by an afternoon at the local theater watching…you guessed it…cartoons and westerns!  As I recall, my dad would give me a quarter. For that, I could gain admission to the movie and have enough change to buy a box of candy and a soda (times were different).  Sundays were also special. Dad would fix breakfast (usually oatmeal or scrambled eggs) for all of us. Then it was off to Sunday School and church. I really liked going to Sunday school, because we’d get to sing. One song I remember well was “This Little Light of Mine”. We’d hold an imaginary candle and sing “I’m gunna let it shine…let it shine…let it shine…let it shine.” 

In Matthew’s gospel, Jesus reminds us that we are to be the “light of the world”, so others “may see (our) good works and glorify (our) Father who is in heaven.”  A light is only visible when it is shining. An unlit candle produces no light. An incandescent bulb is of little value when not turned on. A flashlight won’t help guide you down a dark path if there is no battery. Similarly, we will not be “the light of the world”, if we are not exuding the joy of the Lord throughout the day. So how is it that we become this light? How is it that we would come to be a joyous reflection of our Creator? You guessed it, I’m sure. We pray! Terri Guillemets said it like this:

“When we pray, our hearts glow a glorious joy that lights our souls and all the world around us.”

Prayer has the power to transform us and to fill our lives with expectant joy. Such joy is contagious. People take notice of it and are encouraged by it. It has been my experience that people in need are drawn to prayer warriors like moths to a flame. They see the light, and in it find a glimmer of hope in their own darkness. They hunger for that joy in their own lives. We have none to give if it is not already in us. It grows within us through the daily discipline of prayer. As it does, it “lights our souls and all the world around us.” So, “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” Let’s pray!

Faithful, Loving God; Fill me with your joy that my heart will be aglow with Your love, attracting others to You that You might be glorified and others blessed. I’m gunna let my little light shine today, Lord! Thank you for Your abiding presence in my heart this day! Amen!

Categories

