Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 21, 2013

October 21, 2013 “”Weakness Leaning On Omnipotence”

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”  (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Good Morning Partners in Prayer!

I wonder how many of you are of the age that the name “Tennessee Ernie Ford” still means something to you? For those born before 1950, you may remember him for the song “Sixteen Tons”…a #1 hit during the decade of the 50’s. He also had his own television show which always concluded with the singing of a hymn, of all things! Can you just imagine something like that today other than on a Christian broadcasting network! This was prime-time television on one of the “only-three” networks available! One of those hymns he often would sing became one of my favorites, and still is to this day…”Just A Closer Walk With Thee.” In fact, his was the first version of it I remember hearing. The opening line of that great hymn begins, “I am weak, but Thou art strong”, echoing that famous line found in my first favorite hymn, “Jesus Loves Me“…”little ones to Him belong…they are weak but he is strong.”  Both of these great Christian hymns draw their inspiration from the verse of scripture found in 2 Corinthians 12:9: “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”    

Recently, I read this quote attributed to W.S. Bowd. He wrote:  “Prayer is weakness leaning on omnipotence.”  What a powerful description of prayer, and a poignant contrast between us and God. Prayer is “weakness” (our physical, spiritual, mental, and emotional state of being) leaning on “omnipotence” (God’s all-powerful nature). Prayer is the conduit through which we tap in to a power we do not possess as human beings. It is our connect to the supernatural strength of God Himself! While it is true that “I am weak”, prayer recharges us, like a run-down battery connected to a fully-charged power source. Prayer is the power cable through which flows the energy that renews us. It is a spiritual energy source that is never depleted and always available. Learn to lean on it daily. Keep your spiritual batteries recharged through prayer. His grace is sufficient for you. Let’s pray!

Omnipotent Lord; You are “perfect in power, in love and purity.” Encourage us to stay connected to You this and every day through the conduit of prayer. Strengthen and recharge us as we come to You humbly and thankfully. Amen!

Categories

