Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | October 12, 2013

“The Lord is in His holy temple. let all the earth be silent before Him” (Habakkuk 2:20)

Good Morning People of Prayer! When I was in second grade, I was a most vociferous child…that is…I never shut up! I talked all the time…(maybe that’s why I became a preacher…who knows?). My talking got me into some trouble…so much so that my teacher, Mrs Waller, had my desk moved against the wall where i was sequestered from the rest of the students in the class. As i recall, that is when i began talking to myself (which i find I am still in the habit of doing frequently). Learning when to speak and when to listen are important elements in developing an effective prayer life. I came across this quote recently, and it ministered to my heart. i want to share it with you: “There come times when I have nothing more to tell God. If I were to continue to pray in words, I would have to repeat what I have already said. At such times it is wonderful to say to God, “May I be in Thy presence, Lord? I have nothing more to say to Thee, but I do love to be in Thy presence.” ~O. Hallesby I really appreciate this advice. What a delight it is for us to simply be in the presence of the God Who made us and Who loves us more than we could ever imagine. I think of people in my life that affected me that way…people I just enjoy being around, even when I have nothing in particular to say to them. Sometimes Lydia and I just share the same space…and there is such joy in my heart being there with her, watching her in silence, and I understand how blessed I am to be married to such a woman of God, and a beautiful one at that! Being in the presence of the God Who spoke the world into being brings delight beyond compare. When you run out of things to say to God in prayer, remember what Habakkuk wrote…”The Lord is in His holy temple. Let all the earth be silent before Him!”  Let’s pray! Dear Lord:………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Categories

