Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | September 17, 2013

September 17, 2013 “Prayer Calisthenics”

“God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey. Nothing and no one is impervious to God’s Word. We can’t get away from it—no matter what.” (Hebrews 4: 12-13)

Good Morning Prayers and Believers!

When I began these prayer posts some months ago, I did so in the hope that they would become an encouragement to you who read them to join me in the spiritual discipline of daily prayer. I am encouraged when you share your own prayer discoveries with me, and if they have touched your lives positively, I am gratified by that. Most of what inspires me comes directly from God’s Word, but I am also encouraged by what others have written regarding their own prayer journey. There are two I would like to share with you today.  The first is from Wesley Duewel and the book “Mighty Prevailing Prayer.”  Duewel writes, “God’s Word nourishes your prayer, strengthens your prayer, and warms your heart and fires your spirit as you pray. You cannot have a strong spiritual life apart from constant feeding upon and assimilating God’s Word. Spiritual growth depends upon daily spiritual food. Ernest, even forceful praying, if not nourished on God’s Word, may be weak and flabby.” From this I learn that just as I need daily nourishment of food for my physical body, my spiritual life and effective prayer life need “prayer calisthenics”, and must be nourished by God’s Word.

Similarly, Andrew Murray, in the book “Prayer Life” writes, “Little of the Word with little prayer is death to the spiritual life. Much of the Word with little prayer gives a sickly life. Much prayer with little of the Word gives more life, but without steadfastness. A full measure of the Word and prayer each day gives a healthy and powerful life.”  From this, I learn the importance of combining the discipline of prayer with the discipline of daily, intentional Bible study. They complement each other and together lead to a full, powerful and effective spiritual life. As you prepare to come before the Throne of Grace today, do so by feeding on God’s Word. Then, and only then, will you be truly ready to pray effectively! Let’s pray!

God of Grace and Glory; You have shown us in Your Word how to most effectively communicate with you in our prayers. Continually build us up in our hearts and minds through its timeless truth that we may experience deeper, more fulfilling fellowship with You as we pray. Thank you, Lord. Great is Your faithfulness! Amen.

Categories

