Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | August 2, 2013

August 2, 2013 “The Struggle”

“I urge you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to join me in my struggle by praying to God for me.” (Romans 15:30)

Good Morning Fellow Prayer warriors!

As I was growing up, prayer time for me was usually an activity at meals, at bedside, or at church. It was rather benign, and rather sweet in my mind. I still pray at meals, at bedside, and at church. But my understanding of its necessity, its power, and its very nature has expanded. Prayer is no small, simple thing that we Christians do. It is meant to be powerful and passionate, for we must recognize as Christians that we are engaged in spiritual warfare with a relentless enemy called Satan. Passionless, benign prayers lifted to God more as a matter of habit than of sincerity are “made- to -order” for the Enemy. They present a veneer of “righteousness” without unleashing its potential and its power. In this passage from Romans, with all the passion he can muster, Paul encourages those Christians living in the heart of “Pagan Central”, a.k.a. “Rome”, to “join me in my struggle by praying to God for me.” Paul understood that he was engaged in spiritual warfare, and his effectiveness in prevailing in his daily “struggle” would be exponentially increased as his brothers and sisters, also engaged in their own spiritual warfare, would remember him before God in their prayers as he did daily on their behalf. As you can readily see, Paul is not seeking for some casual mention of him before the Throne of Grace by indifferent onlookers. He is mustering the troops, his prayer warriors, and urging them to join the fray on his behalf,  “by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit.”  As you pray today, I would also urge you to join me in my struggle by praying to God for me, as I do for you each day. Let’s pray!

Mighty Lord God; Prepare our hearts for the spiritual warfare we face this day. We know that the Enemy is relentless, and in order for us to stand victorious at the end of the day, we need to be in prayer for one another. The enemy is strong, but You are greater, and the battle does belong to the Lord. In this we place our trust, our confidence, and our faith. Amen!

Categories

