Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 22, 2013

July 22, 2013 “Song-Prayers”

“Sing to the lord a new song; sing to the Lord all the earth. Sing to the Lord, praise his name; proclaim His salvation day after day.” (Psalm 96:1-2)

Good Morning God- Praisers!

From the time I was a boy, I remember loving to sing. I would sing when playing. I would sing when standing on a street corner. I would even sing in my sleep, so i was told! Perhaps that is one of the reasons I am so drawn to the Book of Psalms during my personal devotional time with the Lord. I have heard the Psalms described as “song-prayers”, which I think is a very descriptive way to think of them. Perhaps the most striking feature of these song-prayers is how forthright, honest, and totally unedited they are. As I read the psalms and reflect on them, it often strikes me as to how descriptive they are of my own life experiences and feelings. Quite often, they express emotions that I would just as soon no one else, much less God, even knew (though I understand that there is nothing hidden from God). For me, these psalms often become my prayers. In doing so, I believe I learn, as can you, how it is that God desires us to communicate with Him…with total honesty and depth of feeling. Too often in our praying, we try to “soften things up” for God, not truly pouring out our heart to Him, fearing, perhaps, that He might take offense to what we are feeling inside or question our motives for praying that sincerely . Believe me…he already knows, and invites us to share those emotions openly with Him in prayer. As we relate to the psalms to express our feelings, or even use them as our own prayer, we learn that honesty, openness and sincerity are valued by the God who made us.

As you read through the psalms, take note of the prayer examples you find. You’ll find prayers of praise and thanksgiving by individuals and communities, petitions of individuals and communities, prayers of confession, sorrow, anger, and faith. Let these “song prayers” become a part of your communication with God. He welcomes straightforward prayer because he cares about you. Let’s pray!

God of Grace and Compassion: Help us to understand that we need hold nothing back from you in our prayers. We can express our anger and disappointment along with our praise and thanksgiving. We can shout for joy or cry out in sorrow and frustration, all the while understanding that you listen and you care for us. Day after day, may we sing of your salvation and your love. Praise be toYou, O Lord our God, savior, Lord, and King. Amen!

Categories

