Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 16, 2013

July 16, 2013 “The Eyes of Your Heart”

“I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance to the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.” (Ephesians 1: 18-19)

Good Morning Dear Friends in the Lord!

Have your arms grown “longer” the older you become? Mine have. What I mean is that in order to see something more clearly I have to hold the book or paper I am reading farther away so I can see it more clearly. Of course, my arms are not really longer. It’s just that I have developed a condition called “Presbyopia”. It’s a condition that often comes with aging wherein the ability of the eyes to focus on nearby objects is diminished. Ergo, I visit the dollar store often to purchase reading glasses (which I am forever losing because of my diminished visual abilities, not to mention absentmindedness as well). Did you know that your heart also has its own set of ‘eyes”? That’s what Paul says here. His prayer is that “the eyes of the heart may be enlightened.” From time to time, things in our life tend to get out of focus, and we begin to lose sight of the big picture. This could manifest itself in different ways and circumstances. For example: (1) you may tend to magnify your anxieties so much that you neglect the amazing blessings in your life.(2) You see only your shortcomings and overlook the gifts and talents God has given to you. (3) Your faith wanes as you stare at the problems of the day and think there’s no possible way to overcome them.

Fumbling around in the dark is a difficult way for anyone to get around. It’s always better and easier to see when the light is turned on. Paul’s prayer is for the heart light to be turned on “in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of His glorious inheritance to the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.”  That is my prayer for you, as it it is for myself- to have the eyes of your heart, and mine, enlightened. I want to see…I want to know…and I want to embrace the hope God has given me. I want to grapple with and to grasp God’s purpose for my life, fulfillment in my life, and commitment in my life, and to discover throughout this day that has been granted me “His incomparably great power” at work in my life. As the old song says, “Open the eyes of my heart, Lord…open the eyes of my heart…I want to see You…I want to see You.” Let’s pray!

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord. Enlighten me that I may understand and embrace that which is my inheritance as a child of the King. The hope to which I have been called is rich beyond imagining. Open the eyes of my heart, that I may see you, today, and for all eternity. Amen!

 

 

Categories

