Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 7, 2013

July 7, 2013 “”Morning, Noon, and Night”

“I call to God and he saves me. Evening, morning, and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.” (Psalm 55: 16-17)

Good Morning Beloved friends!

When I awoke this morning, after I had said my morning prayers, I began to think about the day and what lies in store…what activities are coming up. For example,I thought about getting ready for leading worship. I had a meeting planned with a perspective new member. I wanted to get my prayer blog written. After worship, there are things I have planned for the afternoon, and some meetings this evening. I planned my day out in my mind. Most of us have a similar process we use throughout the day. We think, we plan, we react. Few of us just go through the day mindlessly. When it comes to spending time with God, praying in the evening, morning, and noon is most definitely an excellent way for us to maintain correct priorities throughout the day. We have great examples to follow in scripture. In Daniel, we read of how it was his custom to pray three times each day. Peter, too, was a praying man. And of course, Jesus was often found praying throughout the day. The prayers of God’s people are effective against the overwhelming evil in the world. Never be hesitant to come to God in prayer, evening, morning, and noon. Let’s pray!

Gracious King of Glory: Throughout each new day we raise up mighty prayers to you. As the psalmist wrote, “I call to God, and the Lord saves me.” Hear our prayers we make throughout this and every day, in Jesus’ most Holy Name. Amen

 

Categories

