Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | July 3, 2013

July 3, 2013 “Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep”

“I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.” (Psalm 3: 5)

Good Morning Well Rested Saints!

Perhaps I am making a bit of an assumption with this morning’s salutation. I don’t know if you feel well rested or not. I do not always feel well-rested. I have a condition called “Sleep Apnea” which often prevents me from obtaining much needed rest at night. There is a much more debilitating “condition”, however, which keeps many a person awake at night. It’s called “worry”. Anxiety saps strength. It often keeps us awake at night. Take a look at David’s solution outlined here in Psalm 3. The caption to this psalm informs us that this psalm is a psalm of David written when he is fleeing from his son Absalom, who is bent on killing him. Just imagine the anxiety in his heart. Here his own son is pursuing him to kill him and assume his throne. It’s bad enough that someone is trying to kill him…let alone that it is his own son. It would be enough to keep anyone awake at night with worry and heartache. But David writes, “I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.” What’s his secret? Sleep does not come easily during a time of crisis. David could have been experiencing sleepless nights when word came that his son had gathered an army to kill him. But he slept peacefully, even during this time of rebellion. What made the difference? The ‘secret’ was that David cried out to the Lord, and the Lord heard him. He had the assurance of God’s faithfulness in answering prayer in his heart. This assurance brings peace along with it. It is much easier to sleep well when we have the complete assurance that God is in control of every circumstance of our lives. If you lie awake at night worrying about circumstances you cannot change, turn to the One who can and does change circumstances. Pour out your heart to God, and as you do, remember to thank him that he is in control. Then, I believe, sleep will come as it did for David. He concludes his psalm by declaring, “From the Lord comes deliverance. May your blessing be on your people.” Let’s pray!

Holy and Merciful God; Many is the night we have allowed our worries to rob us of sleep, depriving us not only of physical rest, but spiritual assurance as well. Bring us the peace of Your promised presence as we turn those anxieties to prayer, and we find our rest in You. Amen!

Categories

