Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | April 8, 2013

April 8, 2013

“The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. So on your knees, pray to the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into the harvest field.” (Luke 10:2)

Good Morning Fellow Laborers of the Lord,

This morning, as I considered this passage from Luke’s gospel, my mind traveled back to a night on October, 1968, when in my heart of hearts I distinctly and unmistakably heard God speak to my heart, calling me to a lifetime of service in ministry. My grandmother (my dad’s mom), was a woman of prayer who had often, on her knees, asked the Lord to call one or more of her children into ministry. Now, some years later, God has honored her diligent prayer. She has a grandson who is a minister, a granddaughter married to a pastor, another granddaughter who became a missionary, a great granddaughter who is a Christian vocalist, and I believe this this line will continue to expand. She prayed as Jesus directed…she prayed for workers to go out into the harvest field. As I had my personal “sweet hour of prayer” with God this morning, I also prayed that God would raise up my own children and grandchildren, and call one or more of them into full-time Christian ministry. There is much work to be done. Laborers are needed to bring in the harvest, and it is a plentiful harvest. The Kingdom needs workers. How sad would it be to see a field ripe for the harvest and then to let that field sit unharvested and for the crop to die because no one was prepared to bring it in!  Today, why not make special prayers for God to raise up workers, perhaps from your own family, to labor in the fields of the Lord.  God blessed the prayers of a godly woman…my dear grandmother. I have no doubt he will bless your prayers in this regard just as bountifully. After all, it is a prayer completely in accord with his will and directive. Join me in praying for those laborers, and have a blessed day. let’s pray:

Heavenly Father, there is a field ready to be harvested, and laborers are needed to bring it in. We pray that you will raise up such laborers whom you have anointed for this necessary and important task. They may be in our own family. Lord, could it be that you are calling me to that task? Hear our plea, Lord, that many would be brought into the kingdom through such labor. This we pray in the name of the blessed King of Creation, Jesus Christ the Lord. Amen

Categories

