Posted by: pastormikemcdowell | March 28, 2013

Wednesday, March 27

“And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping; and he said to Peter, ‘So, could you not watch with me one hour? Watch and pray, that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Matthew 20:40-41)

 
Good Morning Saints of Mooresville,
   You may wonder what this mailing is all about. I am hopeful that you are curious enough to keep reading. Recently, I began reading a book by Larry Lea entitled, Could You Not tarry One Hour?…Learning the Joy of Prayer.  The book has served as an encouragement to me in my daily prayer life to set aside one hour a day specifically for prayer. To quote Larry Lea, “Something supernatural happens when you pray an hour a day. It does not happen overnight, but slowly, almost imperceptibly, the desire to pray becomes firmly planted in the soil of your heart by the Spirit of God. This desire crowds out the weeds of apathy and neglect, and matures into the discipline to pray. Then one day you discover that prayer is no longer just a duty or drudgery; instead, the discipline of prayer has borne the fruit of delight. You find yourself eagerly longing for your daily time with God.”
   I want to invite you to join me on this prayer venture. Each day, I will send you a reflection from God’s word on prayer, and invite you to join me in this commitment to prayer and its power. For too long the church has been sleeping when we should be praying. You might be interested to know that your elders have already joined me in this commitment. I invite you to join us as we lift up one another before the Throne of Grace. May blessings abound in your life today. Let’s pray!
In Christ,
Pastor Mike
Categories

